Making a mass emailer

Making a mass emailer

Using Gmail APIs

So I am the GDSC Lead for my college and as the lead one of my duties is to recruit a talented team of developers, designers and managers called the GDSC Core team. The process was fun and after a lot of interviews I had finally decided my team, and when it came to sending out the emails, I didn't wanna manually send off 20 different mails. Plus the default gmail client doesn't let you send HTML mails anyways, so I wrote a small python script to take a jinja template render it with required info and then mail it off with the Gmail APIs.

Product

The above story strikes an idea that just like there would be multiple people who can not send out well crafted HTML mails. So I decided to make a software solution which I named G-Notify.

Tech specs

Being a student and still a noobie to the developer world, I wanted to learn new things with this project. So I decided with a very elaborate tech stack, here a few things could be could be removed but I got to learn a lot

  • Nuxt.js --- server side rendering
  • MongoDB
  • Express
  • Google OAuth
  • Google Cloud Platform --- Storage Bucket and Gmail APIs

Some notable dependencies

  • Mongoose --- for strict schemas and relations in mongoDB
  • Puppeteer --- for rendering the html templates and so them (could be replaced but I wanted to try it for a long time)
  • Vuetify --- for prebuilt UI components

Features

  • Template collection --- List all public templates with ranking by likes - ✅
  • create template --- Create an HTML template on the platform - ✅
  • upload template --- Upload an HTML file as a template - ✅
  • send single template --- send one mail at a time - ✅
  • excel file for mailing list --- upload an excel file to check for emailing list - ✅
  • send multiple template --- send multiple mails at a time - ✅
  • asset management --- for people to upload files for hosting, basically a cdn mainly for images but also supports other things - ✅
  • tracking --- track if the mail was opened or not
  • handlebar templating --- use handlebar templates

Demo & Screenshots

landing Netlify Status

G-notify Netlify Status

I am having huge issues running puppeteer on heroku and gcp storage bucket policies, so it'll be great if someone could help

Screenshot 2022-02-16 at 1.31.57 AM.png

Screenshot 2022-02-16 at 1.36.56 AM.png

Screenshot 2022-02-16 at 1.35.59 AM.png

Screenshot 2022-02-16 at 1.35.51 AM.png

Screenshot 2022-02-16 at 1.34.37 AM.png

Screenshot 2022-02-16 at 1.34.05 AM.png

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Iresh Sharma by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!